Truffles

Mihai’s Vegetables and Truffles Farm
Persoana de contact: 
Mihai Nicolae Constantinescu
Limbi vorbite la ferma: 
Romanian, English and German.
Descrierea zonei: 
Our farm is located in the North part of Muntenia, on the Transfagarasan road (It is the road that climbs to the highest altitude in Romania, 2042 meters, in the Glacial Hollow Balea.) The farm is 500m over sea level, with forests, pasture lands, hay fields. The farm is 10 km far from Curtea de Arges and 25 km from Cetatea Poenari (Dracula’s Castle) and Barajul Vidraru (Vidraru Dam).
Ce se cultiva la ferma: 
We cultivate in small quantities vegetables, cereals and fruit trees. We have also some chickens, 3 cats and 3 dogs. The dogs are trained to find wild truffles.
Dimensiunea fermei: 
Around 3 ha, but only around 0.7 ha is cultivated with vegetables and cereals.
Luni in care se accepta voluntari: 
March to October.
Activitatile voluntarului: 
Working in the fields, gardening, planting, weeding, feeding and taking care of animals, hay making, truffle hunting. Work is determined by everyone capabilities, skills and interests. We welcome and appreciate with open heart every help. I have a job in the city and sometimes I don’t have time to help my Grandma in the garden, because of that we need a helping hand. In summer season I am searching for the truffles and my free time is even more limited. Most of the time volunteers will work with my Grandma. It will be very good if you want to learn some Romanian words, to communicate more easily with my Grandma and neighbors. In my free time I can show you around , we can go to search for the truffles and cook them, making photos, meeting nice people...You can visit as much as you can in your free time.
Cazare: 
We live a minimalistic lifestyle. You will have your own room in my Grandmother house with very basic facilities. You can have internet access. We have a compost toilet.
Dieta: 
My Grandma prepares a very light and tasty food. In summer season we use to eat more vegetables and fruits, more of them grown in our own garden. We eat also meat, eggs, milk and cheese. We are opened to also cook for other dietary needs.
Cateva cuvinte despre familie: 
3 people ( Grandma with 2 grandchildren).
Animale de companie: 
Dogs & cats.
Alte mentiuni: