Casa 139

Casa 139
Contact person: 
Grassi Martina
Languages spoken on the farm: 
English, Italian, Romanian.
Description of the area: 
Small village, around 100 people, located really close to the border with Serbia (10km), the nearest town is Oravita (30km) and around 150 km from Timisoara. The village is mostly populated with old people, the younger are moving abroad or to the cities to have a easier life. Almost every house has vegetables garden, animals and everybody is mostly eating what they produce and they are also producing wine and liquor from plums (Rakia). We are a bit "outside of the world", but the local people is welcoming and used to foreign people, because of some EVS volunteers that came here in the past years. In the summer there are a lot of young foreign people, participating to some european projects for youth.
What do you grow on the farm: 
Vegetables (onion, garlic, salad, tomatoes, peas, beans, eggplants just to name some), herbs (basil, mint, parsley), fruit (strawberries, grapes, plums, apples, peaches), corn, wheat, clover, oat. We have also animals: chickens, geese, ducks, guinea hens, pigs, sheep.
Farm size: 
1 hectare.
Months when they accept voulteers: 
Volunteer activities: 
The volunteer's contribution will depend on abilities and interests of everyone. Helping with the daily activities in the garden (preparing the soil, planting, watering or collecting fruits and vegetables), feeding the animals, making wine or liquor. In plus they can participate in small maintenance work or building new places for the animals.
We have a not so big house, but with all the utilities (kitchen, bathroom, wi-fi), we can offer a guest room with a double bed (good for a couple or for 2 friends). In case of more than 2 volunteers at the same time, we can offer place in the garden for some tents.
We are not vegetarians, but we respect all the diet choices. In our house we are eating moslty italian food with romanian influences, but we will provide also delicious Romanian traditional meals from our grandma!
A few words about the family: 
We are Martina (Italian) and Ionut (Romanian), a young couple and we just started our life together, we have a baby girl named Miruna. Martina moved in Romania 2 years ago, Ionut is local and the agriculture expert. We are trying to live simply with our production of food and sometimes we go in markets to sell chickens or pidgins. Ionut's grandparents are living in the same village in another house and we are helping them also with their animals and agriculture work.
One cat and two friendly dogs.
Other comments: 

We would really love to host as many volunteers as possible, not just for their help, but mostly to meet new people and exchange with them experiences, knowledge and have fun of course!

Asics shoes | Women's Nike Air Max 270 trainers - Latest Releases